Book Review: The Book Thief

The Book ThiefThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Book Thief is one of the most fascinating and enjoyable books I have read recently. The voice of Death as the narrator is appropriately witty, sarcastic, blunt, cynical, and hopeful. The brilliance of the book lay only partially with the choice of narrator. What makes this book special is that Death tells you outright what is going to happen. He is clear and blunt, yet when what he foretold does happen, it is just as emotionally wrenching. While I may have been frustrated at times while waiting for an anticipated event to occur, the power of the emotional impact made up for it.

Additionally, the characters were well rounded and had hidden aspects of personality that were cleverly revealed throughout the book. I would rate this book 5 out of 5 stars. My only disappointment was the frustration of waiting for something foretold to occur, yet that very experience made the book more impactful.

This book tugged at my heartstrings making me cry and laugh, often within a few pages of each other. Highly recommended.

Do you have a book you think I should read? Loved or hated The Book Thief? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

